Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2015

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • International Organization
  • International Organizations

  • Established: By treaty signed November 5, 1993, in Kampala, Uganda; effective as of December 8, 1994.

    Purpose: To promote wide-ranging regional economic cooperation, particularly in the areas of agriculture, industry, transportation, and communications; to facilitate intraregional trade through the reduction or elimination of trade barriers and the establishment of regional financial institutions; to establish a common external tariff and internal free trade zone; and to pursue “economic prosperity through regional integration.”

    Headquarters: Lusaka, Zambia.

    Principal Organs: Authority of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Committee of Governors, Intergovernmental Committee, Court of Justice, Secretariat.


    Secretary General: Sindiso Ngwenya (Zimbabwe).

    Membership (19): Burundi, Comoro Islands, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

    Origin ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website