Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Edited by: Tom Lansford

In: Political Handbook of the World 2015

Timor-Leste (East Timor)

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
    República Democrática de Timor-Leste

    Political Status: Independent republic established May 20, 2002; constitution approved by Constituent Assembly on March 22, 2002.

    Area: 5,641 sq. mi. (14,609 sq. km).

    Population: 1,222,017 (2014E—UN); 1,201,542 (2014E—U.S. Census); 1,212,107 (2014E—Timor Leste Census).

    Major Urban Center (2010—Timor-Leste Census): Dili 228,559.

    Official Languages: Portuguese, Tetum. A majority of Timorese are fluent in Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay); both it and English are “working languages.”

    Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. entry for principal exchange rates).

    President: José Maria VASCONCELOS, popularly known as Taur Matan RUAK) elected by popular vote on April 16, 2012; sworn in for a five-year term on May 20, succeeding José RAMOS-HORTA.

    Prime Minister: Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (leader of the National Congress of East Timorese Reconstruction); appointed by the ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website