• Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Country
  • Countries A-Z

  • Republic of Kosovo
    Republika e Kosovës (Albanian)
    Republika Kosovo (Serbian)

    Note: The decision of the Handbook editors to devote a separate article to the Republic of Kosovo, despite its ambiguous international status, acknowledges its recognition by 108 countries but does so without prejudice regarding the Republic of Serbia’s insistence that Kosovo remains a de jure province of that country. On July 22, 2010, the International Court of Justice issued an advisory opinion that Kosovo’s unilateral declaration of independence “did not violate general international law,” but the 10–4 decision had no immediate impact on the Kosovo-Serbia dispute.

    Political Status: Autonomous district of Kosovo (and Metohija) within the Serbian constituent republic of the communist Federal People’s Republic of Yugoslavia (instituted November 29, 1945); autonomous province within the Serbian constituent republic of ...

    Looks like you do not have access to this content.


    Don’t know how to login?

    Click here for free trial login.

    • [0-9]
    • A
    • B
    • C
    • D
    • E
    • F
    • G
    • H
    • I
    • J
    • K
    • L
    • M
    • N
    • O
    • P
    • Q
    • R
    • S
    • T
    • U
    • V
    • W
    • X
    • Y
    • Z

    Back to Top

    Copy and paste the following HTML into your website