Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents series has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the World. Each volume pairs 60 to 70 original background narratives with well over 100 documents to chronicle the major events of the year, from official reports and surveys to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more. Historic Documents is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Organized chronologically, each volume covers the same wide range of topics: business, the economy and labor; energy, environment, science, technology, and transportation; government and politics; health and social services; international affairs; national security and terrorism; and rights and justice. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year’s events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event. Full-source citations are provided. Readers have easy access to material through a detailed, thematic table of contents, and each event includes references to related coverage and documents from the last ten editions of the series.

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to World Food Programme : December 10, 2020

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to World Food Programme : December 10, 2020

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to World Food Programme
Robert Howard

The Nobel Peace Prize is the world’s preeminent recognition of individuals and organizations who have contributed to a more stable and peaceful society. The accolade has been awarded 101 times to 135 laureates since 1901 when it was established by Alfred Nobel to recognize contributions in three categories: fraternity between nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies, or the holding and promotion of peace congresses. The 135th laureate, the United Nations (UN) World Food Programme (WFP), was awarded the prize on December 10, 2020, for its efforts to combat a surge in global hunger amid the COVID-19 pandemic. ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles