• Summary
  • Contents
  • Subject index

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents series has made primary source research easy by presenting excerpts from documents on the important events of each year for the United States and the World. Each volume pairs original background narratives with well over 100 documents to chronicle the major events of the year, from official reports and surveys to speeches from leaders and opinion makers, to court cases, legislation, testimony, and much more. Historic Documents is renowned for the well-written and informative background, history, and context it provides for each document. Each volume begins with an insightful essay that sets the year’s events in context, and each document or group of documents is preceded by a comprehensive introduction that provides background information on the event. Full-source citations are provided. Readers have easy access to material through a detailed, thematic table of contents, and each event includes references to related coverage and documents from the last ten editions of the series. Events covered in the 2018 Edition include:  • Historic U.S. and South Korean diplomatic advances with North Korea  • Investigation of Russian influence in U.S. elections  • Chinese constitutional changes granting presidential terms for life  • March for Our Lives and gun control demonstrations  • Changes to U.S. immigration and trade policies  • Legalization of marijuana in Canada  • Resignation of Australian prime minister  • Pope declares death penalty inadmissible Volumes in this series dating back to 1972 are available as online editions on SAGE Knowledge.

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Antirape Activists : December 10, 2018
Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Antirape Activists
Heather Kerrigan

Since 1901, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded ninety-nine times to 133 laureates, both individuals and organizations. In his will establishing the prize, Alfred Nobel outlined three types of peace work that could qualify for the award: contributions to fraternity between nations, to the abolition or reduction of standing armies, or to the holding and promotion of peace congresses. After years of speculation that he would win the annual award, on December 10, 2018, the Nobel Committee presented the peace prize to Denis Mukwege, a gynecological surgeon from the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC). Mukwege shared the prize with Nadia ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles