The Federal Regulatory Directory, Eighteenth Edition continues to offer a clear path through the maze of complex federal agencies and regulations, providing to-the-point analysis of regulations. Information-packed profiles of more than 100 federal agencies and departments detail the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. Now updated with an improved searching structure, the Federal Regulatory Directory continues to be the leading reference for understanding federal regulations, providing a richer, more targeted exploration than is possible by cobbling together electronic and print sources.

Civil Rights Division

Civil Rights Division

Civil rights division

■ Introduction

The Civil Rights Division is a unit within the Justice Department that was established in 1957 in response to the need to ensure effective enforcement of federal civil rights laws. The division is headed by an assistant attorney general appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate.

The division enforces the federal civil rights laws that prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin in the areas of voting, education, employment, credit, and housing; in the use of public facilities and accommodations; and in ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles