• Summary
  • Contents
  • Subject index

The Federal Regulatory Directory, Eighteenth Edition continues to offer a clear path through the maze of complex federal agencies and regulations, providing to-the-point analysis of regulations. Information-packed profiles of more than 100 federal agencies and departments detail the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. Now updated with an improved searching structure, the Federal Regulatory Directory continues to be the leading reference for understanding federal regulations, providing a richer, more targeted exploration than is possible by cobbling together electronic and print sources.

Rural Development
Rural development
■ Introduction

The Rural Development mission area was created in 1994 by a reorganization of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Rural Development (RD) is the successor to two former USDA agencies, the Rural Development Administration (RDA) and the Rural Electrification Administration (REA), and it also took over the rural housing programs of a third former agency, the Farmers Home Administration (FmHA). Following the 1994 reorganization, Rural Development was initially known as Rural Economic and Community Development.

Three agencies make up Rural Development: the Rural Business-Cooperative Service, the Rural Housing Service, and the Rural ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles