The Federal Regulatory Directory, Eighteenth Edition continues to offer a clear path through the maze of complex federal agencies and regulations, providing to-the-point analysis of regulations. Information-packed profiles of more than 100 federal agencies and departments detail the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. Now updated with an improved searching structure, the Federal Regulatory Directory continues to be the leading reference for understanding federal regulations, providing a richer, more targeted exploration than is possible by cobbling together electronic and print sources.

Federal Maritime Commission

Federal Maritime Commission

Federal maritime commission

■ Introduction

The Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) is an independent regulatory agency within the executive branch. It began operations August 12, 1961, as the result of Reorganizational Plan No. 7 issued by President John F. Kennedy. The FMC has five commissioners nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate. No more than three of the commissioners may be members of ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles