The Federal Regulatory Directory, Eighteenth Edition continues to offer a clear path through the maze of complex federal agencies and regulations, providing to-the-point analysis of regulations. Information-packed profiles of more than 100 federal agencies and departments detail the history, structure, purpose, actions, and key contacts for every regulatory agency in the U.S. government. Now updated with an improved searching structure, the Federal Regulatory Directory continues to be the leading reference for understanding federal regulations, providing a richer, more targeted exploration than is possible by cobbling together electronic and print sources.

Comptroller of the Currency

Comptroller of the currency

■ Introduction

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) is a bureau of the Treasury Department. Established by the National Bank Act of 1863, it was the first federal agency created to regulate financial institutions (see also Federal Reserve System, p. 228, and Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, p. 173).

The comptroller of the currency is nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate for a five-year term.

The OCC does not receive any appropriations from Congress. Instead, its operations are funded primarily by assessments on national banks. National ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles