Chapter 1: Federal Special Education Disability Categories: IDEA (2004) Next Chapter

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

Federal Special Education Disability Categories: IDEA (2004)
Federal special education disability categories: IDEA (2004)

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), is a federal law that regulates all special education services in the United States. IDEA provides federal funding to state and local education agencies to guarantee appropriate special education and related services for those students who meet the criteria for eligibility. The federal guidelines for special education, defined in the 2004 reauthorization of IDEA, recognizes 13 different disability categories through which students may be deemed eligible to receive special education and related services. Individual states may break some of these disabilities into separate categories; however, determination of qualification in any of these categories requires that a complete, appropriate evaluation be conducted, utilizing a variety of assessment ...

Looks like you do not have access to this content.


Don’t know how to login?

Click here for free trial login.

Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website