The author shows how teachers can enable their students to acquire skills and knowledge, as well as to recognize the value of aesthetic experience and emotional literacy.

Firing the Canon

Firing the canon

The Challenge of the Canon

The National Curriculum for England: English (DfEE/QCA, 1999) specifies the writers that are included in a canon for secondary English. Between the ages of 11 and 16, children are required to study texts by authors included in a prescribed list. They must study two major prose writers published before 1914 (from Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, Emily Bronte, John Bunyan, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Daniel Defoe, Charles Dickens, Arthur Conan Doyle, George Eliot, Henry Fielding, Elizabeth Gaskell, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Mary Shelley, Robert Louis Stephenson, Jonathan Swift, Anthony Trollope and H.G. Wells) and works by four major poets published before 1914 (from Matthew Arnold, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, William Blake, Emily Bronte, Robert Browning, Robert Burns, Lord ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles