Public Sector Reform: Rationale, Trends and Problems


Edited by: Jan-Erik Lane

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

  • Chapters
  • Front Matter
  • Subject Index
  • Copyright

    View Copyright Page


    Carles Boix is Assistant Professor in the Departments of Political Science and Economics at Ohio State University. He is author of a number of articles in the American Journal of Political Science and the British Journal of Political Science and Political Parties, Growth and Equality (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming).

    Ira Denkhaus is a PhD student at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne and was masters student of political science, information science and social psychology at the University of Saarbrücken. She has published a work on advanced transport telematics as a major policy initiative in Germany and her current research interest is railway reform in the 1990s.

    Michael J. Goldsmith is Professor of Politics at the University of Salford. He is currently Visiting Professor at the University of Rennes. His main research interests are in comparative local government and urban politics, and public policy. He has published an edited book on European integration and local government and is now working on two further projects: one on local government chief executive officers, and a second on innovation policy and regional economic development.

    John Halligan is Professor of Public Administration at the Centre for Research in Public Sector Management at the University of Canberra. He has edited Public Administration under Scrutiny: Essays in Honour of Roger Wettenhall (Royal Institute of Public Administration Australia and University of Canberra, 1996) and co-authored (with John Power) Political Management in the 1990s (Oxford University Press, 1992) and Local Government under Challenge (Allen and Unwin, forthcoming 1998).

    Joachim Jens Hesse has been Ford-Monnet Professor of European Institutions and Comparative Government in the University of Oxford and since 1997 has acted as Executive Director of the European Centre of Comparative Government and Public Policy in Berlin. His most recent publications include, Constitutional Policy and Change in Europe (Oxford, 1995), Federalising Europe? (Oxford, 1996), Das Regierungssystem der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (8th edn, Wiesbaden, 1997), Rebuilding the State. Public Sector Reform in Central and Eastern Europe (Baden-Baden, 1997), and The European Yearbook of Comparative Government and Public Administration, Vol. II (Baden-Baden/Boulder, CO, 1997).

    Walter J.M. Kickert is Professor of Public Management at the Department of Public Administration at Erasmus University, Rotterdam and a former counsellor at the Ministry of Education and Sciences. He has published on government planning, public management and organization. His current research interests are public management and governance in complexity. He has edited Public Management and Administrative Reform in Western Europe (Edward Elgar, 1997) and was co-editor of Public Policy and Administrative Sciences in The Netherlands (Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1995).

    Jan-Erik Lane is Professor of Comparative Politics in the Department of Political Science at the University of Geneva. He has published widely in comparative politics and public policy including The Public Sector (2nd edn, Sage, 1995) and, with Svante O. Ersson, European Politics (Sage, 1996) and Politics and Society in Western Europe (4th edn, Sage, 1998).

    Evert A. Lindquist is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Toronto and former Visiting Fellow of the Treasury Board of Canada. He has published widely on the budget process, government restructuring, alternative delivery issues, consultative processes, transitions, Canadian think tanks, and policy communities. He is currently editing a volume for the Institute of Public Administration of Canada entitled Government Restructuring and Career Public Service in Canada.

    Nico P. Mol is Professor of Public Financial Management at the Royal Military Academy, Breda, and Associate Professor of Public Finance at the University of Twente. He has published widely on budgeting and efficiency improvement in government organizations.

    Edward C. Page is Professor of Politics at the University of Hull. His research interests are in the field of comparative public administration and public policy. Recent publications include (edited with J.E.S. Hayward) Governing The New Europe (Polity Press, 1995) and People who Run Europe (Oxford University Press, 1997).

    Thierry Postif is a legal adviser at the Legal Department of the French gas utility, Gaz de France, master of conferences at the Institute of Political Education, Paris and former lecturer at the University of Paris.

    Volker Schneider is Professor of Political Science at the University of Konstanz. He has published widely on the politics of technological development, policy networks and the evolution of governance structures. His current research interests are the role of long-term historical evolution of public policies, and the role of private actors in policy-making at the national, European and global level.

    Bernard Steunenberg is Associate Professor in the Faculty of Public Administration and Public Policy at the University of Twente and Coordinator of The Netherlands Institute of Government. His main research interest is institutional rational choice and collective decision-making. He is co-editor (with Frans van Vught) of Political Institutions and Public Policy: Perspectives on European Decision Making (Kluwer Academic, 1997).

    Gerry Stoker is Professor of Politics at the University of Strathclyde and was Programme Director of the five-year ESRC Local Governance Research Programme 1992–7. He has lectured in applied social sciences and public administration at Leicester Polytechnic, at Inlogov, the University of Birmingham and at the Department of Government, University of Essex. He was Visiting Professor, CULMA, at Wayne State University during 1990–1. He is author or editor of more than ten books and was a member of The Commission for Local Democracy.

    • Loading...
Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website