Addressing the practicalities of clinical supervision, this informative book follows the course of the supervision process, illustrating each stage with an absorbing blend of information, opinion, academic theory, anecdotal material, serious comment and thought-provoking exercises. Emphasis is placed on the purpose and value of clinincal supervision, but also on the potential pitfalls those involved may encounter, and how they can be avoided. A number of theories and models are discussed with reference to each stage of supervision, providing a thought-provoking basis for the practical issues raised. Written in a lively and engaging style, this book will enable both supervisors and supervisees to get the best they can from t

Finding a Solution By Knowing How to Look for the Problem!

Finding a Solution By Knowing How to Look for the Problem!

Finding a solution by knowing how to look for the problem!

Key Issues in this Chapter

  • The development of a clinical supervisee
  • A framework for supervisory intervention
  • The six ‘eyes’ of clinical supervision

The Development of a Clinical Supervisee

According to Friedman and Kaslow's (1986) ‘Six Stage Model of Development of Professional Identity’ – originally designed for therapists and adapted to nursing here – a clinical supervisee can be expected to pass through a total of six major stages of personal change and development during the course of a clinical supervision experience. These stages of supervisee development are referred to as:

  • Excitement and anticipatory anxiety
  • Dependency and identification
  • Activity and continued development
  • Exuberance and taking charge
  • Identity and independence
  • Calm and collegiality

Whether the supervisee passes through ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles