Previous Chapter Chapter 5: Literacy: Developing Readers and Writers, Six to Eight Next Chapter

  • Citations
  • Add to My List
  • Text Size

Literacy: Developing Readers and Writers, Six to Eight
Literacy: Developing readers and writers, six to eight

The early years of statutory schooling in England include the last year of the Early Years Foundation Stage (Reception), plus Key Stage 1 and the start of Key Stage 2 of the National Curriculum. The mismatch between this mixture of stages and the well-established international definition of the early years as being birth through to eight does not necessarily restrict what can be achieved with, and by, six- to eight-year-olds. The situation is a challenge to all of us to demonstrate our understanding of the broad principles which were discussed in Chapter 4, as well as our ability and determination to put them into practice. All early years practitioners, workers, ...

Looks like you do not have access to this content.


Don’t know how to login?

Click here for free trial login.

Back to Top

Copy and paste the following HTML into your website