• Summary
  • Contents
  • Subject index

This book describes an advanced generalist approach to direct social work practice with individuals, couples, families, and groups. Intervention paradigms that include psychodynamic, cognitive/behavioral/communications, experiential/humanistic, existential and transpersonal are presented as the four sources of social work.

Affective Development
Affective development

The social worker needs to be involved in three ongoing, interrelated processes of emotional development: (a) self-awareness, (b) self-acceptance, and (c) capacity to feel. These processes are all important to effective use of self in practice. The social worker who is developing self-knowledge, self-acceptance, and depth of feeling is increasingly effective in conscious use of self and as a model for clients.


The effective social worker strives to become more aware of herself. Without self-awareness, the social worker cannot differentiate well between the client and herself; aspects of the self that are still unknown may be projected onto others. Without self-awareness, the social worker cannot fully accept himself or other people; one can only accept what one is first aware of. Without self-awareness, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles