Abu Ghraib is one of nine districts surrounding Iraq's capital, Baghdad. It is recognized for its prison, where prisoners were abused under Iraqi president Saddam Hussein, and later, by members of the U.S. military. Several U.S. military personnel, including four women, have been identified as responsible for the abuse of Abu Ghraib detainees and three of the four women have been tried and punished for their participation. The United States returned control of the prison to Iraq in 2006. It was reopened as Baghdad Central Prison in 2009.

Designed by American architect Edmund Whiting, the prison was built by British contractors in the 1960s. The prison occupies 280 acres and contains five compounds surrounded by a brick wall topped with barbed wire and 24 guard towers.

The ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles