High school teachers in the United States public school system must be licensed by their state's Department of Education to teach grades 7-12. The licensure process requires a bachelor's degree in one's content area, for example, English, math, sciences, history, foreign language, art, and/or music; admittance into an accredited teacher preparation program, which includes a minor in Education and a semester of directed student teaching; and a passing score on the PRAXIS examination, which is the national-level examination in one's content area, classroom management, and pedagogical practices. Once these requirements have been fulfilled, the pre-service teacher may apply to the state board of education for a teaching license.

Alternative licensure processes are also available for those who would like to pursue teaching careers after having had ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles