In 1972, the U.S. Congress passed the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), which stated that federal and state law would not discriminate against anyone based on sex. From 1972 to 1982, 35 U.S. states ratified the ERA, a number that fell three short of the necessary total. During the ratification period, the amendment became the subject of controversy and served as a divisive issue among women in the United States. Since 1982, the Equal Rights Amendment has been introduced into every session of U.S. Congress, but Congress has not passed the amendment again.

U.S. suffragist Alice Paul authored the ERA, and from 1923 to 1972, the ERA was introduced into every session of Congress. In 1946, the Senate voted on the ERA, but the amendment failed. During ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles