Gluten-Free Foods

Gluten-free foods are food products that lack gluten proteins and are thus appropriate for people with celiac disease (also spelled coeliac disease in British English) and non-celiac gluten intolerance. Celiac disease is also known as celiac sprue, nontropical sprue, and gluten-sensitive enteropathy. Gluten-free products are often also appropriate for people with wheat allergies. However, gluten-free wheat products are available but are not appropriate for people with wheat allergies. Gluten proteins are found in the grains and other plant parts of wheat, spelt, barley, rye, and other species of wheat such as teff and kamut. Although avenin (the gluten found in oats) is safe for most people with celiac disease (at least 95%), other gluten proteins may contaminate oats or products that are processed on the ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles