New York

NEW YORK IS located in the northeastern part of the continental portion of the United States and is one of the 13 original colonies. It is bounded by three smaller states to the east—Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut; by the Atlantic Ocean, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania to the south; and on the north and west by two of the great lakes, Lake Ontario and Lake Erie, and two Canadian provinces, Quebec and Ontario. The land area of the state is in excess of 54,000 square miles, and its population is approaching 19 million people.

Although the capital is Albany, the state is dominated by the city of New York, which is one of the world's leading cities in terms of financial trading, business activity, tourism, cultural production, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles