Detached Retina

The wall of the eye is made up of three layers. The outermost layer is called the sclera; the innermost layer is the retina. The retina is further divided into an outer layer of pigmented epithelium and an inner layer of neural tissue. When the inner neural tissue separates from the outer pigmented epithelium, this abnormal condition is called retinal detachment. There are three types of retinal detachment, depending on the mechanism:

  • Rhegmatogenous. This is the most common. A break or tear in the inner neural layer allows vitreous fluid ...
  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles