The Commonwealth of Virginia was a member of the 13 original colonies that formed the United States of America. Virginia is located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the eastern United States, bordered by North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. The state encompasses approximately 42,750 square miles of land and water and has several large metropolitan areas, including Richmond, Norfolk and Newport News, and the Washington, D.C., and Fairfax areas. Richmond is the state capital. The U.S. Census reports that Virginia had a population of just over 8 million residents in 2010. Among residents, 68.6 percent were white, 19.4 percent were black, 5.6 percent were Asian or Pacific Islander, 3.2 percent were of another racial or ethnic group, and 2.9 percent were ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles