The United States has a compulsory school system that includes kindergarten through 12th grade (K-12). During this time, the majority of students are required to make a school transition, which can be defined as changing schools in order to matriculate to the next level of schooling. There are exceptions. For example, students who attend K-12-inclusive schools forgo school transitions. Three school transitions commonly occur during a student's K-12 schooling: the transition to elementary school, the transition to middle school, and the transition to high school. Each of these school transitions presents unique challenges to students. Sociologists have been concerned about school transitions for two principal reasons. First, transition points are a moment in students' educational trajectory during which inequalities in schooling tend to either be ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles