Spain is located in the southwestern corner of Europe. The country covers an area of approximately 195,367 square miles (506,000 square kilometers) and has a population of 47 million people. The official language is Spanish (Castilian). The country is divided into 19 autonomous communities, which have significant political and administrative power. Some of these have an additional official language.

Compulsory Education in Spain

Education in Spain is free and compulsory for all children and young people up to the age of 16. Compulsory schooling is divided into two parts: Educación primaria (primary schooling) and Educación second-aria obligatoria (compulsory secondary schooling). Primary schooling covers children from 6 to 12 years of age, and compulsory secondary schooling applies to children from 12 to 16. However, because students are required ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles