South Carolina is a small state in the southeastern United States, comprising 46 counties and an area of 31,117 square miles (80,593 kilometers). South Carolina is bordered on the north by North Carolina, on the south and west by Georgia, and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean. According the U.S. Census Bureau, the population of South Carolina is approximately 4.6 million people. The capital city is Columbia, and other major population centers include Charleston, Rock Hill, and Greenville.

South Carolina is typically divided into three regions: the Low country (coastal), the Midlands (central), and Upstate (mountainous, western region). Currently, the state's primary economic industry is tourism, with the primary centers of tourism located along the coast in the Myrtle Beach and Charleston areas. Other ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles