One of two landlocked countries in South America, Paraguay is bordered by Brazil to the east, Argentina to the south, and Bolivia to the north. A Spanish colony until 1811, Paraguay encompasses 157,048 square miles (406,752 square kilometers) and is divided almost into equal halves by the Rio Paraguay. As of 2011, Paraguay has a population of 6,454,548, according to the World Bank. The capital and largest city is Asunción, and official languages are Spanish and Guaraní, both widely spoken throughout the country. The Paraguayan people are almost entirely mestizos (mixed Spanish and Amerindian), who account for 95 percent of the population. A small population of unassimilated Amerindians account for 2 percent of Paraguay's population, and the remaining percentage of the population includes some unassimilated ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles