Myanmar, formerly known as Burma, is the second-largest southeast Asian mainland country with an area of 261,970 square miles (678,500 square kilometers). It is surrounded by the Bay of Bengal, Andaman Sea, and the Gulf of Thailand with a coastline totaling 1,100 miles (1,930 kilometers) and the countries of Bangladesh, China, India, Laos, and Thailand. Myanmar is a multiethnic country. It is divided into seven states and seven administrative divisions.

The estimated population for 2011 was 56 million, of whom 66 percent live in rural areas and 34 percent live in urban areas. Of the total population, 27.5 percent are children under 15 years of age, 67.5 percent belong to the 15 to 64 age group, and only 5 percent are 65 and over. Once Myanmar ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles