Angola is located in southern Africa and bordered on land by the Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, and Namibia; Angola's western border is the Atlantic Ocean, and its coastline is approximately 994 meters (1,600 kilometers) long. Angola occupies roughly 481,321 square miles (1,246,620 square kilometers), with the World Bank placing the 2011 total population at 19,081,912. Approximately 37 percent of the population is ethnic Ovimbund, and the remaining groups include: Kimbundu (25 percent), Bakongo (13 percent), Estico (mixed native African and European, 2 percent), European (1 percent), and those who identify as other (22 percent). Although Angola gained independence from Portugal in 1975, Portuguese remains the official language, while Bantu and other African languages are commonplace throughout the nation. For close ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles