Deleuze, Gilles

The French philosopher Gilles Deleuze (1925–1995) began his career as a professor of philosophy at the Sorbonne, prior to a post at the University of Lyon where he taught the history of philosophy. The first phase of Deleuze's work begins with books on Nietzsche (1983) and Kant (1984), Bergson (1988), Foucault (1988), Spinoza (1990), Hume (1991), and Leibniz (1993). In 1969, at the request of the French philosopher, historian, and social theorist Michel Foucault (1926–1984), Deleuze began teaching philosophy at the University of Paris VIII, a post he held until his retirement in 1987. Following an extended period of respiratory illness, Deleuze took his own life on November 4, 1995. In his early publications, The Logic of Sense (1990) and Difference and Repetition (1994), Deleuze ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles