In May 1929, President Herbert Hoover established the National Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement, or the Wickersham Commission, to investigate the state of law and order in the United States. The bipartisan commission included 11 notable political and academic figures, among them Attorney General George Wickersham (chairperson); Dean of the Harvard Law School Roscoe Pound; Secretary of War Newton Baker; and the leader of the Chicago Crime Commission, Frank Loesch. Other members included Henry Anderson, Ada Comstock, William Grubb, William Kenyon, Kenneth ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles