The Townshend Acts of 1767 are a combination of four independent acts passed by the British parliament under Chancellor of the Exchequer Charles Townshend. The acts placed duties on various goods sent to the American colonies and increased colonial dissatisfaction with Great Britain. The duties began in 1767 and were repealed in 1773 after protests by the colonists. In 1767, the British government continued to seek out ways to support the stationing of troops and other government officials in the American colonies. After a change in government ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles