Established in 1870, the Department of Justice (DOJ)—otherwise referred to as “Justice Department” or “USDOJ”—is the legal executive branch of the U.S. federal government. As the combined law, policing, and justice workhorse of the nation, it is tasked with three main functions—upholding federal laws, administering justice, and safeguarding American society—with the overall mission:

To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles