The last of the original thirteen colonies, and one of the original seven Confederate states, Georgia is a southern state with a body of law extending back to the colonial era and the English common law tradition.


Slavery remained legal in Georgia until the Civil War. Although importing new slaves to the state was prohibited in 1817, that law was repealed 12 years later. At the same time as its repeal, the rights of both free and enslaved blacks were restricted by outlawing teaching blacks to read or ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles