The Court of Common Pleas, the King's Bench, and the Court of Exchequer were the three superior courts of common law in England. Criminal matters were handled by the King's Bench, while the Exchequer dealt with tax collection and rent. All three were lodged in Westminster Hall from 1395 to 1882. Henry II established the Court of Common Pleas in 1178 to hear civil cases involving pleas, or suits, between citizens, and the Crown used this court when it took civil action against a citizen. This court was responsible for ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles