The European Space Agency (ESA) is the European organization devoted to the development of space programs in its 18 member states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Canada also takes part in some projects under a cooperation agreement. Thanks to a cooperative approach, ESA is able to undertake space-related activities that would not be affordable by any single European country. ESA is organized in directorates dedicated to different space programs, among which are Human Spaceflight, Science, Earth Observation, and Telecommunication. Over the last few years, communication and education have played a growing role in the agency: in the Legal Affairs and External Relations directorate, there is currently a ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles