Enuresis refers to repeatedly urinating in one's clothes or bed after the age of five years that is not the result of an illness or medication. For children with developmental delays, a mental age of five is necessary for a diagnosis of enuresis. In addition, the incontinence (wetting) must occur two times each week for a minimum of three months or cause significant distress. Bedwetting is one of the major reasons that children are referred to psychologists.

The two major types of enuresis are primary and secondary. Primary enuresis is when the child has never achieved a period of dryness (continence). In secondary enuresis, dryness is established for at least six months, but the child loses continence. There are three subtypes of both primary and secondary ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles