Statewide tests are designed to measure academic content standards, which are the important facts, ideas, and concepts that students should know at each grade level. Most states have written standards in academic subjects such as reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social studies. In January 2002, President George W. Bush signed the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). Starting in the 2005–2006 school year, states will be required to test students in reading and math at every grade level from 3rd to 8th and once in the 10th to 12th grades.

What is the Purpose of Statewide Tests?

Statewide tests are used for educational planning, to evaluate instructional programs, and to measure student progress. They are also used for accountability, to make sure schools are delivering on their ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles