The mathematics curriculum in K–12 schools is organized across four major areas, number systems, algebra, geometry and measurement, and statistics and probability. While emphasis varies, each grade level's curriculum will likely include experiences with topics in each area. During their study of mathematics, students are expected to learn concepts and procedures, and both are required for mathematical expertise.

The study of numbers begins early with whole numbers and the process of counting. As students age, the number systems they study increase to include integers, rational numbers, and real numbers. Students learn to represent numbers in a variety of ways. For example, the number 5 may be represented by 5 beans, as the difference between 12 and 7, as a product of 20 and ¼, and as ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles