Criterion-Referenced Testing: Methods and Procedures


Criterion-referenced tests are constructed to allow users to interpret examinee test performance in relation to well-defined domains of content and/or behaviours. Normally, performance standards are set on the test score reporting scale to permit examinee test performance to be classified into performance categories such as below basic, basic, proficient, and advanced. Criterion-referenced tests are well suited for many of the assessment needs that exist in education, the professions, the military, and industry. Today, criterion-referenced tests are called by many names – domain-referenced tests, competency tests, basic skills tests, mastery tests, performance tests, authentic assessments, objectives-referenced tests, and more. In different contexts, test developers and users have adopted these different names. For example, in school contexts, the term ‘mastery testing’ is common. When criterion-referenced tests are ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles