Vargas, Getulio (1882–1954)

Getulio Vargas was the president of Brazil from 1930 to 1945 and 1951 to 1954. His terms in the presidency can be divided into four distinct periods. After losing the election in 1930, Vargas and his allies organized a military action to take over the government and to depose the president elected, Julio Prestes. In October 1930, Vargas took over the Provisory Government (1930 to 1934), which marked the end of the Old Republic and the beginning of a political, social, and economic transformation in Brazil. In the second period, the Constitutional Government (1934 to 1937), Vargas was elected by a Constituent Assembly, and a new Constitution was approved in 1934. However, with the Constitution of 1934, Vargas would have a 4-year term and he ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles