European Convention on Human Rights

The European Convention on Human Rights (or the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms) was adopted by the Council of Europe in 1950 to protect human rights. The Council of Europe, originally established in 1949 to promote human rights, democracy, and the rule of law, consists today of 46 member countries across Europe. The convention establishes a European Court of Human Rights to monitor observance of the rights and freedoms secured in the convention (article 19).

The convention protects 13 specific rights ranging from the right to life (article 2) and a prohibition against torture (article 3) to a prohibition against slavery (article 4) and the right to liberty and security (article 5) and the right to a fair trial (article 6). ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles