Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology (ANZSOC) was founded in 1967 in Melbourne, then the epicenter of Australian criminology. The University of Melbourne had established Australia's first department of criminology in 1951, with Sir John V. Barry, a judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria, as the first chair of its board of studies. Norval Morris was secretary and a foundation member of the department until his appointment as dean and professor at the University of Adelaide's law faculty in 1958.

The small community of Australasian criminology grew slowly. It was not until 1965 that the Universities of Sydney and Auckland established departments of criminology. By then, it was observed that the small but growing number of interested individuals from various academic disciplines, as ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles