International Criminal Tribunals

Since 1993, several international criminal tribunals have been established, promoting international criminal law as a growing discipline. In 1993–1994, the ad hoc criminal tribunals for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) and Rwanda (ICTR) were set up, and since 2002, the International Criminal Court (ICC) has been accepting cases. In contrast to the ICTY and ICTR, meant to try international crimes that occurred during a particular period and were committed within a certain region, the ICC is permanent, and its jurisdiction encompasses genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes, and crimes of aggression.

Unlike the ICTY and ICTR, which are based on a resolution of the United Nations (UN) Security Council, the ICC is based on a treaty concluded in 1998 in Rome among 120 states. This rather complex ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles