Millennium Development Goals

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were adopted by the United Nations (UN) in September 2000. Their creation came after more than a decade of UN conferences and summits on major issues linked to poverty and health in developing countries, and it set deadlines on a range of issues. The set of eight issues are referred to as the MDGs, each with specific objectives; they have been accepted by 189 countries and are designed to meet the world's most significant development priorities

The introduction of these goals signaled an unprecedented move to reduce extreme poverty through cooperation between all countries and development organizations. The MDGs are assessed for the world as a whole, as well as for groupings of individual countries. Groupings of developing regions are designated ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles