The International Organization for Standardization (ISO), headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, develops international standards for products, services, processes, materials, and systems. These standards carry the ISO logo—the name derived from the Greek word isos, meaning “equal.” Currently, there are 162 member organizations, generally representing countries, involved in the standard-setting process. This organization does not carry out certification of conformity to its own standards.

ISO 14000 is a series of international standards designed to meet the needs of business, industry, governments, and consumers in the environmental field. These standards are developed by ISO Technical Committee 207. They have produced consensus work products such as the basic standard for environmental management systems—ISO 14001. There are a number of other environmental standards in the ISO 14000 family, including ISO 14015 ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles