University of Maine

THE UNIVERSITY OF Maine, established in 1865, is the flagship university of the University of Maine system. It is located in Orono, just outside Bangor, one of Maine's largest cities. Also known as UMaine, the university has an enrollment of over 11,000 students, making it the largest university in the state. The college was the fourth to be established in Maine, after Bowdoin, Bates, and Colby. Originally intended as an agricultural college, it also places a large emphasis on engineering and the sciences. The University of Maine is a major research institute composed of six separate and distinct colleges offering 184 areas of study. The Department of Earth Sciences offers graduate degree programs focusing on climate change in conjunction with the Climate Change Institute.

The Climate ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles