THE REPUBLIC OF Malta consists of three main islands in the Mediterranean Sea, and has a land area of 121 sq. mi. (316 sq. km.), consisting of the islands of Malta (246 sq. km.), Gozo (67 sq. km.), Cornino (2.7 sq. km.) and the uninhabited islets of Cominotto, Filila, and St. Paul. It has a population of 407,000 (2006 est.), and a population density of 3,339 people per sq. mi. (1,282 people per sq. km.), making it the 7th most densely populated country in the world. Although officially, 32 percent of the land is arable, with wheat and potatoes grown widely, the soil is poor.

Because of its hot temperature and extensive tourist industry, Malta has a relatively high per capita rate of carbon dioxide emissions, ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles