THE REPUBLIC OF Korea is located in the southern part of the Korean peninsula and associated islands that lie between 33 and 43 degrees N and extend southward into the northeastern Asian continent. Its peninsular configuration as an appendage of the Asian continent and mid-latitudinal location lead the continental influence on the East Asian monsoon climate of South Korea. South Korea has four distinct seasons. In summer, a hot, moist climate dominates South Korea, which is located in the western flank of the North Pacific high pressure system, while cold, dry northwesterly winds from the Siberian high pressure system take over the winter climate. In the transition periods of spring and fall, clear, pleasant weather occurs more frequently and the land-sea breeze becomes dominant with ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles