Equatorial Guinea

ONE OF THE smallest and least developed countries in Africa, Equatorial Guinea was formerly the colony of Spanish Guinea, in central Africa, with the mainland bordering with Gabon and the Cameroon, and the capital, Malabo, located on the island of Bioko (formerly Fernando Po) in the Bight of Biafra. It has a land area of 10,828 sq. mi. (28,051 sq. km.), with a population of 504,000 (2005 est.), and a population density of 47 people per sq. mi. (18 people per sq. km.). Located in the tropics, only 5 percent of the country's land is arable, with much of it used for subsistence farming, and growing cocoa and coffee; another 4 percent is used for meadows and pasture. In addition, 46 percent of the land ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles