Beijing, also known as Peking, is the capital and the political, cultural, and educational center of the People's Republic of China. Together with Shanghai, Tianjin, and Chongqing, Beijing is one of the four municipalities under direct administration of the central government, which are equivalent to provinces in China's administrative structure. Many historic sites are among the UNESCO's (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage List, such as the Temple of Heaven, Zhoukoudian Peking Man Ruins, the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and the Summer Palace.

Beijing is China's third largest city after Chongqing and Shanghai, with an area of about 16,807 square kilometers (6,487 square miles), divided into 16 urban and suburban districts and two rural counties, and a population of about 17.5 ...

  • Loading...
locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles